校园自行车

她们已经在求学的路上出发, 只需提供一辆自行车,你就可以帮助她们走得更远。

Through the SchoolCycle program, Girl Up aims to help eliminate one of the biggest obstacles keeping girls out of school: distance. 在自行车的帮助下,她们可以获得所需的教育,创造更美好的未来。

立即捐赠

什么是“校园自行车”?

Launched in 2014, SchoolCycle is a campaign to provide bicycles to girls to help them access education and stay in school. Through the SchoolCycle campaign, Girl Up aims to help eliminate one of the biggest obstacles keeping girls out of school: distance. 有了自行车之后,女孩们就可以快速安全地上下学,还可以自如地穿梭于村庄周围。 如此一来,她们便能够获得所需的教育,为自己、家人和村庄创造更美好的未来。

Together with our partner UNFPA, Girl Up has provided 1,550 bicycles to girls in Malawi and 250 bicycles to girls in Guatemala – and we’re just getting started. Help Girl Up continue to provide a brighter future to more girls the gift of a bike.

“校园自行车”是如何运作的?

每 125 美元捐款可以为联合国合作伙伴确定的最需要帮助的女孩提供一辆自行车及相应的备件和维修培训。 Girl Up 会从我们的支持者那里收集捐款,然后交给负责采购和分发自行车的联合国官员。

为什么是自行车?

自行车能够改变女孩的生活,帮助她们获得所需的教育,创造更美好的未来。 它还可以鼓励那些因怀孕、工作或学费而辍学的女孩回到学校完成学业。 在危地马拉,即使最近的中学往往也有数英里远,这使得原住民女孩们不得不沿着险要地形长途跋涉,路途中经常会遇到暴力或骚扰。 每 10 名原住民女孩中有 6 位不满 15 岁就辍学,其中很大一部分原因就在于上下学路途太远且充满危险。

在马拉维,读完小学的女孩人数不到四分之一,中学毕业的女孩人数更是只有 9%。 诚然,贫穷是阻碍女孩继续上学的主要因素之一,尤其是在花钱才能就读的公立中学。 但女孩们还面临着另一个普遍的挑战,那就是上下学的路途太遥远,有时单程甚至超过 10 英里。


Diana:骑行中的女孩

12 岁的 Diana 决心继续留在学校,完成学业,将来成为一名老师。 由于中学太远、交通和其他费用都很高,而且每天独自上下学非常危险,她的大多数朋友都没有上完六年级就辍学了。

但 Diana 拥有让她能够继续学业的法宝——自行车。

 


详细了解我们的影响力

2013 年,联合国基金会的记者 Zoe Fox 和 Lauren Bohn 来到马拉维,他们很快意识到,这里的女孩迫切需要自行车。  他们到访的 Mdinde 社区中学是方圆 37 英里内唯一一所中学。 由于路途遥远,女孩们经常在放学后不回家,而是在学校就地而睡。 Zoe 和 Lauren 利用自己的记者身份将这些女孩的故事传播开来,最终与 Girl Up 达成了合作。 马拉维的“校园自行车”故事并不会就此结束,它会继续在危地马拉开花结果。详细了解。

SchoolCycle

She's already going places. With a bike, you're helping her go further.

Through the SchoolCycle program, Girl Up aims to help eliminate one of the biggest obstacles keeping girls out of school: distance. With a bike, she can obtain the education she needs to create a better future.

Donate Now

What is SchoolCycle?

Launched in 2014, SchoolCycle is a campaign to provide bicycles to girls to help them access education and stay in school. Through the SchoolCycle campaign, Girl Up aims to help eliminate one of the biggest obstacles keeping girls out of school: distance. A bike can help a girl travel quickly and safely to and from school, and gives her the independence to travel freely around her community. That way, she can obtain the education she needs to create a better future for herself, her family and her community.

Together with our partner UNFPA, Girl Up has provided 1,550 bicycles to girls in Malawi and 250 bicycles to girls in Guatemala – and we’re just getting started. Help Girl Up continue to provide a brighter future to more girls the gift of a bike.

How does SchoolCycle work?

A $125 donation provides a bike, spare parts and maintenance training to girls in greatest need identified by our UN partners. Girl Up collects monetary donations from our supporters to send to the UN officials who procure and distribute the bikes.

Why bicycles?

A bike is the vehicle that can transform a girl’s life, so she can get the education she needs to create a better future. It can also serve as an incentive for those girls who have already left school due to pregnancy, work, or expense, to return to complete their education. In Guatemala, indigenous girls often live many miles from the closest secondary school, which forces them to walk long distances along dangerous terrain, often putting them at risk of experiencing violence or harassment during their commute. Six out of 10 indigenous adolescent girls in Guatemala leave school before age 15, oftentimes because their commute is too long and too dangerous. 

In Malawi, less than a quarter of girls finish primary school and only 9% graduate from secondary school. Poverty is one of the main factors preventing girls from staying in school, especially at the secondary level where public school costs money to attend. But another prevalent challenge is the long commute to school which can exceed 10 miles in each direction.


Meet Diana, a girl on the move

Diana, 12, is determined to stay in school and become a school teacher. Most of her friends did not continue beyond sixth grade because the middle school is far away, transportation and fees are expensive, and traveling alone every day is risky.

But Diana holds the key to continuing her education: a bike.

 


Learn More About Our Impact

When UN Foundation Press Fellows Zoe Fox and Lauren Bohn traveled to Malawi in 2013, they quickly realized that the girls they met needed bicycles.  The Mdinde Community Day Secondary School they visited was the only secondary school in a 37 mile radius. The girl students would often sleep on the floor of the school rather than make the exhausting journey home at the end of the day. Zoe and Lauren’s background in journalism helped to spread the stories of these girls which in turn led to their collaboration with Girl Up. While the SchoolCycle story started in Malawi, it continued to Guatemala. Learn more.