Ouganda

 

Adolescentes en Ouganda

Les filles vivant en Ouganda sont confrontées à divers défis qui peuvent avoir un impact sur leur bien-être, leur développement et leur avenir. Celle qui sont scolarisées sont souvent confrontées à des préjugés sexistes et à des discriminations, aussi bien dans les livres que dans les programmes et même de la part de leurs professeur(e)s. Dans les familles les plus pauvres ou rurales, il est souvent plus difficile pour les filles d’aller à l’école, d’autant que l’éducation n’est souvent considérée comme importante que pour les garçons. En Ouganda, les filles ont plus de risque d’abandonner l’école, de se marier jeunes et d’être confrontées à la pauvreté que les garçons. Download our Uganda fact sheet here to learn more.

  • 35% of girls in Uganda drop out of school because of early marriage.
  • In 2016, there were 1,162,715 displaced people living in Uganda – and that number continues to increase.
  • 85% of South Sudanese refugees are women and children under the age of 18.
  • 73% of refugee children are enrolled in primary school and only 15% are enrolled in secondary school.

Que fait Girl Up en Ouganda ?

Girl Up soutient les adolescentes d’Ouganda en finançant des programmes de l’Agence des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) qui veillent à ce que les filles déplacées soient inscrites à l’école et aient accès à une éducation de qualité.

  • Élargit l’accès à l’éducation

    • Ce programme met à la disposition des filles les livres et les uniformes requis et paie leurs frais d’inscription afin de permettre à celles dont les familles n’ont pas les moyens d’aller à l’école. Des classes, des toilettes et des installations de loisirs sont en cours de construction dans les écoles où il y a beaucoup de réfugié(e)s, afin d’en accroître la capacité et de permettre à plus de jeunes d’être scolarisés.
  • Veille à la qualité de l’éducation

    • Des techniques d’apprentissage innovantes sont en cours de mise en œuvre afin d’améliorer la qualité de l’éducation des filles et d’améliorer leurs compétences scolaires. Le « Girls Education Movement » crée des clubs de filles pour les inciter à aller à l’école et à participer en classe. Le programme « Newspaper in Education » distribue des supports de lecture autres que des manuels scolaires et encourage les jeunes à lire.
  • Offre un environnement d’apprentissage sécurisé

    • Afin d’aider les filles à se sentir en sécurité et soutenue à l’école, ce programme recrute des enseignantes et veille à ce qu’elles restent en poste. Les enseignant(e)s suivent des formations sur les méthodes d’éducation et sur les questions de genre.

Raise funds for refugee girls in Uganda here.

À propos de l’Ouganda

L’Ouganda est un pays enclavé d’Afrique de l’Est, officiellement appelé République d’Ouganda depuis son indépendance du Royaume-Uni en 1962. L’anglais est la langue officielle, mais environ 40 langues différentes sont parlées dans tout le pays, le Luganda étant la plus répandue. Le pays a l’une des populations les plus jeunes du monde, avec un âge médian de 15 ans.

Depuis fin 2013, le nombre de réfugié(e)s arrivant en Ouganda a considérablement augmenté. La population réfugiée se compose de personnes de diverses nationalités et est répartie dans neuf camps ainsi que dans la capitale, Kampala.

Uganda

 

Adolescent Girls in Uganda

Girls living in Uganda face a number of challenges that can impact their well-being, development and future. Those attending school often face gender bias and discrimination in textbooks, the curriculum, and from the teachers themselves. In poorer or more rural families, it is more difficult for girls to attend school, as education is often considered only important for boys. Girls in Uganda are more likely to drop out of school, marry early, and experience poverty than their male counterparts. Download our Uganda fact sheet here to learn more.

  • 35% of girls in Uganda drop out of school because of early marriage.
  • In 2016, there were 1,162,715 displaced people living in Uganda – and that number continues to increase.
  • 85% of South Sudanese refugees are women and children under the age of 18.
  • 73% of refugee children are enrolled in primary school and only 15% are enrolled in secondary school.

What is Girl Up doing in Uganda?

Girl Up is supporting adolescent girls in Uganda by funding UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) programs that aim to ensure displaced girls get enrolled in school and have access to a quality education.

  • Expanding access to Education

    • The program includes textbooks, school fee payments and the provision of required uniforms, allowing girls whose families may not have been able to afford education to attend. Classrooms, washrooms, and recreational facilities are being built in school with high refugee enrollment, to increase capacity and allow access to more students.
  • Ensuring the quality of education

    • Innovative learning techniques are being implemented to enhance the quality of girls’ education and improve their literacy. The “Girls Education Movement”  creates girls’ clubs to encourage  their enrollment and involvement in class. The “Newspaper in Education” program provides non-textbook reading material and seeks to encourage and build a love for reading.
  • Providing a safe learning environment

    • In order to help girls feel safe and supported at school, the program is focused on hiring and retaining female teachers. Teachers undergo trainings on best teaching practices and gender-sensitivity.

Raise funds for refugee girls in Uganda here.

About Uganda

Uganda is a land-locked country in East Africa. It became officially known as the Republic of Uganda after it gained its independence from the United Kingdom in 1962. While the official language is English, approximately 40 languages are spoken across the country, with Luganda being the most common. The country has one of the youngest population in the world, with a median age of 15 years.

Since the end of 2013, Uganda has seen a significant increase in the number of refugees crossing its borders. The refugee population is made up of a number of nationalities, and refugees in nine  settlements as well as the capital city of Kampala.